top of page

Fat Bombs!

There was a time (the 90's and beyond) when I was deathly afraid of fat in my food. Fat-free everything--that was the food industry fad. My how things have changed.


Now I vote for fat over sugar and carbs any day! I'm not keto but I do avoid carbs as much I reasonably can. Everything in moderation, right? Back to the fat subject...my favorite fats come not in the form of malasadas and russian tea cookies, but more whole foods like avocado, nuts, oils, fish and meat.


"Healthful fats are an important part of every diet, and omega-3 fatty acids are good for the heart as well as the hair, skin, and eyes. Fish can be good sources of omega-3s as well as vitamin D, which can boost hair health." [https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/324949.php]


Buut, since one of my favorite foods is dark chocolate, I've made up this loose recipe for dark chocolate fat bombs:

  • 1 pint-size container of freshly ground peanut butter (from Kokua Market or Whole Foods)

  • 1 cup cacao powder (the one from Costco works great)

  • Avocado oil...not sure how much...maybe like 1/2 cup?

  • Truvia or Swerve (a natural sugar substitute) to taste (start with around 3 T)

  • 1/2 tsp sea salt

  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

  • Dump everything into a mixing bowl

  • Add water little by little until it reaches a barely mixable consistency.

  • Roll into balls on a plate with parchment paper (optional)

  • Freeze

  • Once frozen, remove from plate and put in a quart-size ziplock for easy access from the freezer


Whenever you get a craving for chocolate, sweets, or anything like that, just grab one or two of these doodoo balls. Yeah they look like doodoo but they taste like sheer awesomeness...in the shape of a ball.


Think of them as bonbons. Also, have your kids to make them. Though they might/will tease you for eating the shtuff. See if I care!


Yum yum...faaaaat.

41 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page