top of page

Bathroom Cleaner

Instead of reaching for the Clorox wipes (more aptly labeled poison wipes) try this mixture in a spray bottle.

I used to wipe down the counters and floors of my bathroom with Clorox or Lysol wipes--whichever was on sale or on hand. Someone told me bleach is bad for you, but I didn't connect that to the wipes I was using.

For an all-purpose bathroom cleaner, mix 1 part water with 1 part vinegar (+ a few drops of tea tree oil) in a spray bottle. Spray, let it sit (or not if you're in a mad rush) and then wipe away.

Found cheap and cute spray bottles at Daiso. $1.50 a piece! Wal-Mart has some very utilitarian (a.k.a. ugly) ones

The Recipe

Spray bottle

1/2 white vinegar

1/2 water

Few drops of tea tree oil (or really any other good smelling essential oil)


The Seventh Generation disinfectant spray is a good alternative to this, if you don't want to make your own or if you hate the smell of vinegar. The vinegar smell is rather strong, but it does the job of cleaning and disinfecting, and the stink does dissipate fairly quickly. I spray this everywhere in my bathrooms, but especially around the toilets! YAAAAASSS!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page