top of page

Clarifying Shampoo

I think the reason this mix works for me is that the baking soda lessens the apple cider vinegar (ACV) smell, and the peppermint makes it tingly like your hair is chewing gum. Otherwise I don't care for ACV eu de toilette.


Don't use this too often or it'll dry your hair out. But once a week or so, when you feel like there's a lot of build up on your hair, it works great to get the gunk off so you can start with a clean slate!


The peppermint is great when you're experiencing increased hair fall out or thinning (remember after childbirth?) There's menthol in it, which is a vasodilator--it ups your blood flow. Sometimes your hair follicles don't get enough blood flowing to them, and that causes hair loss.

It DOUBLES as a remedy for thinning hair. Somebody pinch me!

The Recipe: Clarifying "Shampoo"

2 Tbsp Apple cider vinegar

2 cups water


Stir together the apple cider vinegar and baking soda in a bowl. Watch it fizz! When it stops, add the water and peppermint.


So with this shampoo as well, I use it like a hair rinse before massaging it in. I flip my hair over the bowl (containing the mixture) in the bathtub. (I'm kneeling on the side of the bathtub.) I dunk the top of my head into the bowl so that it's soaking, fully saturated. Then I'll massage it in for like 3 min. Or 1. Rinse it out real good with cold-warm water (NOT HOT).

59 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page