top of page

Eye & Face Butter

My eye cream was the last to go. As I swapped out each of my commercial skincare products for homemade chemical free ones, I was still holding on to my eye cream. I feared that if I stopped using it, my undereye bags, puffiness, crow's feet and fine lines would return with a vengeance.


But I finally bit the bullet and decided to give it a try. First I started with just mixing oils. That went great and I felt like my delicate eye skin was getting more nourishment than ever before. But I wanted to see if I could make it more like a cream. I learned that to do so I would have to add water (which ironically dehydrates your skin) and emulsify it in oil and add a preservative to keep it that way. So I ended up making a butter instead. Like body butter for your face.


How I usually start the process of developing my own recipe is to search up other recipes, find what I think are the most beneficial ingredients from all of them, base it on what I think my skin needs and what will go well together. I read the recipe directions, too, so I can solidify a method in my mind as well. I'm taking notes the whole time I'm researching as well.


Here are the ingredients I used:

2 Tbsp shea butter

1 tsp beeswax

1 Tbsp apricot oil

2 Tbsp rosehip seed oil

4 capsules vitamin E oil

4 capsules evening primrose oil

2 drops carrot seed EO

3 drops frankincense EO

3 drops rosemary EO

3 drops geranium EO

2 drops lavender EO

1 drop cedarwood EO


Directions:

Fill a pot with 2" of water, bring water to a boil on the stove on med high, then turn down to low

Place a mason jar in the pot, creating a double boiler

Add shea butter and beeswax, stir until melted

Remove from heat.

Stir in apricot and rosehip seed oil

Let cool for 5 min.

Use a pin, knife or scissors to cut open capsules and empty oil into mixture

Keep stirring

After 5 min (it'll take you that long to get all the capsules emptied), add essential oils

Pour into your clean storage container


This has become my day cream, night cream, eye cream, everything cream. I mean butter.


------------------

*UPDATE 2/3/21:

I removed the shea butter and beeswax from this recipe. So now I just take my rosehip seed oil bottle and add the other ingredients right into the bottle. No heating necessary. I use it as my night cream only. I have other stuff I use for day cream. I should probably write a post about that.

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page