top of page

LOVING this DIY Leave-In Conditioner

Why didn't I think of doing this before? It's SO SIMPLE!


Never buy leave-in conditioner again. Why? Because you can just take your regular conditioner and dilute it with water to get that same thing you would have paid triple for.


Orrrrr, you could make YOUR OWN leave-in conditioner without any chemicals, preservatives, toxins or scandalous ingrediments. It's really super easy if you have some oils on hand.


You can use any spray bottle for this recipe. Daiso sells these wonderful little hairspray-type bottles, soft squeeze bottles, other types of dispensers that you can get for $1.50 a piece! Once you have the cute clean little empty dispensers, you'll just want to make your own concoctions to put in them!


I got larger spray bottles from Wal-Mart after I discovered how quickly I go through the little bottle and because it sprays more product in each squeeze. I'm finding it an indispensable part of my daily routine. It leaves my hair so soft and manageable. If there is one DIY recipe I could give myself an award for, THIS would be it.



The Recipe: Leave-In Conditioner

  • Fill the spray bottle about 1/4 of the way with water (always make small batches)

  • Add coconut or argan or jojoba oil (approximately 3 droppers full)

  • Add essential oils - you can experiment with different combinations. Here's what I've tried and liked: 1. ylang ylang, peppermint (2-5 drops of each), 1-2 drops neem oil 2. rosemary, thyme, cedarwood, peppermint, carrot seed (2-5 drops of each)

  • Shake it up really good before each use.

I make this in small batches and use it up within 2 weeks because there are no preservatives so it's not going to last forever.


I use it when my hair is likely to dry out or when it's been dried out. So basically before and after I sauna or surf, and after a shower. It makes your hair feel soft and silky--which is especially needed after washing with bar soap or a DIY hair wash recipe. You can totally replace the use of commercial conditioner and detangler sprays.


Best thing is you don't have to worry about the overspray going on your face, body, food, kids, etc, because it's totally safe and all good for you. Just spray away!

5,359 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page