top of page

Leave-In Rosemary Rinse

Antimicrobial, anti-inflammatory, and antiseptic properties. What more could you ask for from a plant? Rosemary is one of the best things that has fallen upon my hair. And not just because it makes me smell of roasted chicken.

Rosemary helps to increase scalp circulation and promotes healthy hair growth. It darkens unwanted grays and slows down the graying process! It can also remove product build up and do your taxes.

What other herb do you know of that can do your taxes?

I add thyme to this tea for its conditioning properties, and whole cloves for its darkening effect.

The Recipe: Rosemary/Thyme/Cloves Hair Rinse

2 Tbsp Rosemary leaves (either dried or fresh)

1 Tbsp Thyme

1 Tbsp Cloves (either whole or powder)

2 cups water


Put everything into a pot, bring it to a boil. Turn down to low and let simmer, covered, for 3 minutes. Remove from heat and allow time to cool (it's worth the wait--I've scalded my scalp before--not fun). The tea should be a dark brown. It smells delicious but do not drink. Pour through some kind of strainer. I use a tea strainer.


Any time I'm using a hair rinse, this is how I like to do it: flip my hair over a bowl in the bathtub. (I'm kneeling on the side of the bathtub.) I pour the rinse over my head and into the bowl. So the bowl catches all of it. I dunk the top of my head into the bowl so that it's soaking, fully saturated. I massage it in, maybe pour it over my head again a couple times to make sure it gets all over. With other mixes I'll rinse it out, but with this one it's better to leave it in. I love the smell. It's not your typical Herbal Essence scent, but it sure is unique!

70 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page