top of page

Acne Mask

At a certain time of the month, my chin breaks out in 2-3 cystic zits below the surface that take like the full month to heal. As soon as it clears up, it's that time of the month again. For this reason, and because my son has his own teenage acne problems, I frequently make an acne mask. In fact, my son begs me for it because he sees immediate improvements in his complexion after using it.



Here are my 3 best acne mask recipes


1. Aztec clay mixed with apple cider vinegar or water

1 spoonful of clay

slowly add a little bit of water or ACV at a time until you have a thick but spreadable consistency

apply a 1/4" coat onto face

let sit for 15-20 min. You will feel your face pulsating!

If you can stand the smell of ACV, use it instead of water because it has properties that are all the more beneficial for your skin.


2. Aztec clay with water and activated charcoal

1 tsp bentonite clay

1 tsp activated charcoal powder

2 tsp water

½ tsp raw honey

Mix all ingredients together, apply to face and let sit for 15-20 min.


3. Greek yogurt with activated charcoal - most gentle and exfoliating mask

1 spoonful of yogurt

1/2 tsp activated charcoal powder

Mix all ingredients together, apply to face and let sit for 15-20 min.


Witch hazel (without alcohol) is great as an all-natural toner. Tea tree oil is good for spot treatments.


------------------

*UPDATE 2/3/21:

I stopped using ACV in this recipe. I only mix it with water now because I think the ACV makes it a little too acidic. One night I put this mask on my entire family of 5, and when they rinsed it off everyone's faces were beet red. I tried to tell them it was just increased circulation to their facial skin. It settled down after a few hours (!!!) but I was determined to figure out what went wrong. So the next time I tried it without the ACV and there was no redness at all on anyone. Bingo.

58 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page