top of page

Daily Smoothie

What do you put in your smoothies? is a question I get often because I run my Vitamix about 4 times a day. Every. Single. Day. Well, the recipe is different for every member of this family. Here's mine:



I portion out the dry ingredients every 2 weeks so that I don't have to bring everything out of the pantry every day. In the dry mix are these ingredients:

  • 2 Tbsp Flaxseeds or flaxseed meal

  • 1 tsp Chia seeds

  • 1 tsp Hemp seeds

  • pumpkin seeds

  • pecans

  • almonds

  • cashews

  • antioxidant fruit & fiber blend from Costco

  • vitamins - B12 and Iron

  • 1 packet of Truvia for sweetness

Then when I'm ready to make the smoothie, I pour in my vitamix

  • 1-1/2 cups of water (roughly)

  • the bowl of dry ingredients

  • handful of frozen berry mix

  • a few frozen strawberries

  • lemon juice

  • sometimes a small handful of greens (we rotate kale, spinach and collard greens)

“Regardless of what I eat for the rest of the day, I know if I have my smoothie, I'll have gotten the baseline essentials."

For my husband's smoothie I add more greens, celery, carrots, banana and protein powder. For my kids' smoothies I add greens, carrots, a frozen acai packet, frozen banana and LOTS of honey. So if you see Dave drinking purple sludge from a quart-size cup in the middle of the day, now you know what's inside. Not that you really needed to know, but anyways...you're welcome.


-------------------

*UPDATE 2/3/21:

My smoothie mix has dramatically changed. Now I'm optimizing for hair health--here's what it is:

  • plant-based protein powder

  • essential amino acids

  • collagen powder

  • L-Tyrosine amino acid (for hair color)

  • Biotin

  • Cinnamon

  • frozen blueberries

  • blackstrap molasses (for hair color)

55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page