top of page

How to Run - a guide for non-runners

During this COVID-19 crisis, we haven't been able to exercise in the ways we used to--no going to the gym, no group boot camps or Crossfit, no team or contact sports practices--the ILH season and all club sports were cancelled! In Hawaii we're still allowed to be outside for recreational activities like walking, jogging, running, swimming, but we're just not allowed to hangout in one place before or afterwards. And we are definitely not allowed to congregate.


You have to keep moving.


And I think that's good advice for us all. I thought this would be a good time to do a post I've been thinking about doing for a long time. This post is for you if you

1) like to run but aren't sure if your form is correct,

2) hate to run but now you're forced to because of corona,

3) are intimidated by runners/joggers so you only walk.


Running is one of the best forms of exercise. You can do it anywhere without any equipment other than shoes, and to me it's the single best way to lose weight. You'll see yourself shrinking if you keep it up.


Now I have never been a fast runner, never considered myself a very good runner either--perhaps because I was always coming in second-to-the-last or dead last in my cross country and track meets. But I've been running since 7th grade--more for social reasons and later for fitness. I have never been interested in speed or competition (obviously). It's a big joke in my family because my husband and two boys are avid runners. Like the fast kind of runners. So I'm the tortoise but you know what--it's okay because at least I'm the most CONSISTENT.


So again, I'm no expert, but I've gained a lot of good coaching over the years. Here I'm going to give you the cliff notes version of everything I've been taught about running from cross country and track, My husband training my sons, and the reminders I give myself when I get out for a run.


RUNNING TIPS FOR NON-RUNNERS (so you don't look like you've never done it before)


1. Run tall, shoulders back, eyes straight ahead (not down at your feet or up at the sky)


2. Your arms at a 90º angle (doesn't have to be exactly 90, just somewhere between like 60-90º) and swinging front to back, not across your body. Relaxed--not tight. Hands should be open and relaxed--NOT making fists


3. Lean your torso (spine still straight like you have a yardstick down your back) ever so slightly (about 2-5º) forward so that the angle helps you go forward.


4. Strike the ground with the mid-sole or ball of your foot--NOT your heel


5. You want a springiness in your steps so that you're lightly bouncing along the ground--you shouldn't be able to hear your footsteps


6. The energy and force should be behind you as you push off the ground--you're kicking back


7. If you want to speed up, you increase the revolutions of your steps, NOT the length of your stride


8. When possible, run on asphalt or grass/dirt. Concrete is the worst because there's no give, so more impact on your joints.


9. Your running routine should include a warm-up and ballistic stretching before your run, and static stretches (hold each stretch for 10 seconds) after your run.


10. If any of this is overwhelming to you, then forget the tips--forget about form. Just get out there and do it. Run like there's no tomorrow and you never read this blogpost about how to run! LOL There are really no "rules," these are just suggestions that I've found helpful. So take it with a grain of salt.


Start off slow and gentle -- low mileage, easy, enjoyable pace. Step it up a little each time you run. There's a great initiative called "Couch to 5k" that was popular a few years ago. If anyone's looking for a way to get started with running, here's a simple plan that could help you go from zero to 5K in 2 months.

Get out there and try it! If you haven't run for a while, start with low mileage and every day add on a little more. Look all around as you're running--enjoy the scenery, connect with your surroundings, let your mind wander, then center yourself. You will feel so good at the end! That's the endorphin rush a.k.a. runner's high.


103 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page