top of page

Deodorant Recipe

My father in law used to reference some National Geographic study that found Japanese people had the least body odor of any race. Too bad I'm not Japanese.


I still stink sometimes. Not everyday, and I can't predict when, but every once in a while I'll smell myself and be like "Ewwwww." But I haven't used traditional deodorant since like high school. I sometimes use the Thai salt stone/crystal. Or this:



“Every once in a while I'll smell myself and be like 'Ewwwwww.'”

It's not a magic formula, but just a set of ingredients I think go well together. My google search for what goes into a homemade deodorant turned up these things (among others). You can change it up depending on what you have at home. All I know is that when I rub it on my armpits, I smell nothing but lemongrass all day.

The Recipe: Deodorant Mix (I'm approximating the amounts because I usually just eyeball it based on the bottle or jar I'm filling, but here goes...)

20 drops Lavender EO

30 drops Tea Tree EO

3T distilled water

4 drops Neem oil (this stuff stinks but I think it's the secret ingredient)


Keep the mixture in a container. Think of it not like a roll on deodorant but more of an armpit balm LOL...


Instructions:

Shake well before each use.

Use only the smallest amount (like half a pea size)

Rub into your arm pits


People have said that once they start using this, they actually stop stinking completely and no longer need to use it every day. So I recommend doing a quick smell check first to see if you actually need to apply it. You may have already solved the problem at the root--by changing the environment of your underarms to make it inhospitable to the bacteria that causes B.O. in the first place! Hooray!


UPDATE: I got these awesome soft squeeze bottles from Daiso and put the deodorant mix in it--works GREAT! It's less messy than my other container. Also I added aloe vera gel to the mix so it's soothing as well. (The baking soda can feel a little harsh on sensitive skin, depending on how much you put.)




60 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page