top of page

Face Yoga

Have you seen the instagram ad where this petite Japanese lady is doing super weird face poses like sticking out her tongue, raising her hands to the sky and opening her eyes real wide? I saw it and it totally grabbed me just because it was so freakishly weird. It led me to this survey that determined which part of my face I would want to transform, and which face yoga program I should buy. I ended up getting the 28-day Eye Jumpstart.


For 28 days I did a different 15-17 minute routine, following a video that was somewhat repetitive, but also kinda relaxing.

I took a before and after picture that I didn't expect to show anyone except Dave--they were so embarrassing (especially when he couldn't stop laughing--in the most loving way). I had stopped doing it around Dec 17th, and just figured I would do some of the poses while I'm driving to maintain what little results I thought I had gotten from it.


But then I got this email to join the face yoga community on fb. I did join, and followed the instruction to post a photo and introduce yourself. So many people commented that they could really see a difference! I felt encouraged. So encouraged that I think I might want to continue doing it, and share it with you guys.


No edits, no filters, no make up whatsoever. It's taken in the same place at the same time of day, both after I washed my face for the night. The only difference is that in the after picture I accidentally left the kitchen counter light on, which as a warm light. You can see its reflection on the cupboard door.

What I got out of the 28-day jumpstart wasn't just less forehead lines and less droopy eyelids, but I also got:

  1. My mind opened to doing skincare a whole new way--that's where I got the ideas to do an egg white mask, yogurt mask, etc.

  2. A new mindset--that you can love yourself and how you look AS YOU AGE. [insert BOOSH--brain exploding] The face yoga program talked a lot about embracing the aging process, self-love and positive thinking.

  3. I had never before thought of doing toning and stretching exercises for my face in the same way we know we need them for our bodies. I had no idea it was even possible to change certain aspects of your face like asymmetry or a double chin.

So I ended up wanting to post about this not because I want everyone to buy the face yoga program or whatever, but because I think there's something very valuable in those three lessons I just listed.


There is a TON of free info out there already as well. You don't have to purchase the jumpstart or the bootcamp programs. I just got a deal on the jumpstart ($27) and couldn't pass it up. It was worth it because it forced me to be diligent about doing it everyday, but now that I know there's freebies galore, I don't think I'll spring for the 6-week bootcamp ($299!). Instead, I'll spring for this free stuff right here (and you're welcome to it, too!):

  1. Fumiko Takatsu's Youtube channel. Here's a sample video– "How to reduce forehead lines": https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B7CQfKo_OT8&list=PLk0dMiq-sbFLlRawDhBep9RsXsu1MbzlC

  2. Free worksheets. Here are two I got: Five Yoga Poses to Try Right Now Face Yoga Exercises for a Beautiful Smile (mouth and cheeks)

  3. An analysis tool. https://go.faceyogamethod.com/aging-habits-analysis-tool It is to get you to buy one of their $27 programs, which is usually $57, but they also help you know what videos to look for on the youtube channel, where all the videos are free to watch. (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJ3rqw1Wkm1-mbLfmOkuDTg)

The lady in the videos, Fumiko, is kinda cheesy and oddball-ish (and UNBELIEVABLY PETITE!) but I heard from my friend who happened to meet her at a yoga conference once, that she does really know her stuff. She's educated in anatomy and physiology or something like that, so everything she teaches has its basis in actual science. That made me more confident in her method. Even for the skincare stuff. What can I say--I'm a fan.


------------------

*UPDATE 2/3/21:

There are 3 poses I still do from the Big Bright Eyes jumpstart.

  1. Big eyes (to combat droopy lids) - just make your eyes as big as you can without moving your forehead

  2. Big O - say "Oh" and then drop it down as low as you can

  3. Undereye tightening - look up without moving your forehead and then squint.

I do it during my guasha routine. Ain't nobody got time for the rest of it.

333 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page