top of page

Highest antioxidant tea

When Dr. Greger came out with the breaking news that hibiscus tea scored the best in all these research studies, I had to give it a try. Actually it was more because Dave emailed me the recipe and said "This sounds so good can 'we' make this?"!


"In a comparison of the antioxidant content of 280 common beverages, hibiscus tea...ranked number-one, even beating out the oft-lauded green tea. Within an hour of consumption, the antioxidant power of your bloodstream shoots up as the tea’s antioxidant phytonutrients are absorbed into your system." [https://nutritionfacts.org/topics/hibiscus-tea/]


Bring it on! Get ready, bloodstream, here come the antioxidants!

This pic was taken right after I poured the water in and stirred. The fruit punch color gets darker after 12 hours.

The fruit punch lover that Dave and the kids are, I thought it would be a guaranteed hit. I keep this old Brita container in my fridge full of the fruit punch LOOKING beverage 24/7. When it's empty, I refill it right away. Quite honestly though, I think I'm the only one draining it.


Dr. Greger (my hero) recommends the Celestial Seasonings Wild Berry Zinger--that's why I use it. But any hibiscus tea with HIBISCUS as the first ingredient will do. The Wild Berry Zinger gives it that fruit punchy taste. You can get it off amazon 6 boxes for $14 or from some supermarkets $5/box.


The Recipe: Hibiscus Tea - "tastes like fruit punch!"

1 gallon of water (16 cups)

Juice of 2 lemons (4T)

6 T non sugar sweetener "Swerve" (erithrytol)

---

Mix together and for cold brew tea (preserves antioxidants) let steep in fridge for 6-12 hours (no heat).


Nobody in their right mind should pass up this level of antioxidants and phytonutrients. I'm just kidding, you don't have to make it. I'm just saying my own family should drink it since it's staring them in the face when they open the fridge each day! Hope my husband is reading this.


After 12 hours in the fridge

90 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page