top of page

My own skincare

I'm starting to think I can make my own skincare that does a better job than Rodan-n-Fields.

As I'm spreading yogurt onto my face, I'm hoping nobody rings the doorbell or facetime calls me. But I don't really care, because it's doing wonders for my skin. My pores are smaller, my face is softer, complexion is more even, my zits aren't scarring and I'm getting less of them.


One time I had this massive cystic zit on my chin (which I get monthly), and after I washed off my mask with water, I gently rubbed the zit. The top layer of skin easily rolled off. The white pussy substance of the zit subsequently emerged...without me even having to squeeze it! I kid you not. The jury was out on the homemade skincare until that moment. Now it's unanimous: mostly-chemical-free skincare is the way to go...for me..right now...until something changes.


Here's my morning routine:

  1. Honey wash - more to come on this later.

  2. Egg white mask - crack an egg. Either put it into a container to use later, or use it for breakfast. With the leftover egg white in the shell (or straight out of the container), spread it onto your face. A little goes a long way. Let that dry. It will tighten as it dries--it's all good. It's tightening your pores and your crinkly wrinkles.

  3. Make a yogurt mixture and spread it over the dried egg white. Here are my 3 staple mixes: • Greek yogurt, raw honey, turmeric • Greek yogurt, raw honey, neem powder • Greek yogurt, raw honey, activated charcoal

  4. Let sit for 15-20 minutes while you do other things (i.e. get the kids ready for school)

  5. Wash off with lots of splashes of water

  6. Toner, moisturizer (didn't go chemical free with these items yet...one thing at a time)

It sounds like it takes a long time but actually it doesn't. I have things ready to go in the fridge. I'm doing other things while the mask is on--waking up the kids, taking the dog out, checking emails, etc. Once I make the yogurt mixture one day, I'll use it for like the next 5 days, from an airtight container in the fridge. It feels so refreshing going on cold, reducing puffiness. The neem powder yogurt mask smells like green tea ice cream...MMMmmmm! It does NOT taste like it though.


Benefits of each ingrediment:

  • Egg white: Eggs are great for deep cleansing treatments and the protein is good for firming up your skin. Egg white can shrink or tighten pores.

  • Greek yogurt: High in lactic acid, yogurt acts as a gentle exfoliator by removing the top layer of dead skin cells. It stimulates new cell growth, making your skin look healthy, renewed and younger looking. Greek yogurt has a thicker consistency so it stays put better.

  • Raw honey: Raw honey helps balance the bacteria on your skin, which makes it a great product to use for acne. Honey also speeds up your skin cells' healing processes and reduces inflammation.

  • Turmeric: Turmeric can reduce acne. The anti-inflammatory qualities can target your pores and calm the skin. Turmeric is also known to reduce scarring. Get this from Costco--it's so cheap.

  • Neem powder: Neem powder is a superfood for your skin. And thank God its benefits can be absorbed through our pores because it doesn't taste very good. Neem powder in a paste can heal scars, fight acne, treat pigmentation, control oil, moisturize, exfoliate, treat skin infections, and make your skin glow. Like MAGIC.

  • Activated charcoal: Activated charcoal binds to dirt and helps pull it out of your pores, making them less visible (it's the oil and dirt that makes them appear bigger).

I'll have another post coming about the honey wash--one ingredient and delicious.


------------------

*UPDATE 2/3/21:

The only thing I still do from this routine is the honey wash. I need to get back to doing the egg white mask and the yogurt mask every once in a while. I just got so lazy over covid!

65 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page